How to Delete a Twitter Account – Everything You Need to Know


There is a lot to like on Twitter. For some people, however, it can do more harm than good. Find out how to delete your account in a few easy steps.

Twitter is one of the most popular social media apps out there, but for anyone who has had enough, the good news is that deleting an account can be done in just a few steps. After its humble beginnings in 2006, Twitter has since grown into a massive online platform with hundreds of millions of users. This is where many people get their daily news, watch online dramas, engage in political speech, etc. Whether someone is scrolling endlessly through their timeline or engaging in a heated debate with other users, there’s no doubt that it doesn’t take long for Twitter to become addicting.


To Twitter’s credit, it’s hard to have a healthy relationship with any social media app. They are designed to show people relevant content, get them to interact with other users, and to stay engaged with the app for as long as possible. Apps like Twitter and Facebook can start out harmless enough, but when they start to get hooked on someone, that’s when problems can arise. One way to combat this is to set limits on how often a person allows themselves to spend on these apps. Another option, however, is to delete your account and walk away from it altogether.

Related: Twitter Wants You To Tweet More & Hopes New Privacy Features Help You

For someone ready to take this step and delete their Twitter account, the instructions are as follows: From the Twitter app on a phone or tablet, tap the profile icon at the top left, scroll down and tap “Settings & privacy.” If you are viewing Twitter from the desktop site on a computer, click the “More” button to the left of the screen and click “Settings & Privacy.” Once on this page, the instructions are the same in the app and the website. Select “Account”, select “Deactivate your account”, select the reactivation period (either 12 months or 30 days) and select “Deactivate” at the bottom of the screen. Enter your account password, select “Deactivate account” and this account is officially deactivated.

What happens after you deactivate your Twitter account


Twitter makes it very clear that users are “deactivating” their account rather than “deleting” it. This is because deleting a Twitter account is a multi-layered process. After completing the above steps, users should wait until the end of the reactivation period before the account is permanently deleted. They can log into the account at any time during this period to undo the deactivation, but if they remain logged out, it will eventually be deleted after the time limit has elapsed. When an account is permanently deleted, Twitter informs that “Your account is no longer available in our systems. You will not be able to reactivate your old account and you will no longer have access to any old Tweet.”

If someone deactivates their account but notices that it is constantly being reactivated, it is probably because third-party sites linked to the account are inadvertently keeping them alive. In this case, users will need to go through and revoke all external sites that have access to the account. Log in to Twitter, open “Settings & Privacy”, navigate to “Account”, select “Apps & Sessions”, select “Connected Apps”, select an app from the list and click / tap “Revoke App Permissions” . Repeat this process until no site has access to your account, repeat the above steps to deactivate the account, and you should be fine now.

Next: How to delete your Facebook account (correctly)

Source: Twitter


Last of Us shows Pedro Pascal Bella Ramsey Joel Ellie

Last of Us TV Show: Joel & Ellie’s first image is super sharp


About the Author



Comments are closed.